NOIR 2.0 – WESTWORLD: Black & White

noir

NOIR 2.0 drains colour, bringing life to the cinematography of contemporary films and television series re-imagining them in glorious BLACK & WHITE.

noir-west21

The cinematography of the classic, stylish  film noirs influenced generations of filmmakers. The restricted camera movement and lack of colour to emphasize themes forced artists to craft provocative compositions to elicit emotions and heighten the tension. The craft is still alive! Today, directors embellish camera angles and lightning to create atmosphere and help absorb us into their vision.

noir-west28By envisioning movies and television series in black and white, it shines a spotlight on the cinematography. While we can do this at home by adjusting the colour settings on our television, the deliberate adjustment of brightness and contrast levels further enhances the overall vision.

This photographic series aims to remind the audience how genre films respect the art while delivering on the popcorn.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Volume V of NOIR features the incredible new HBO show WESTWORLD from incredible minds like Michael Crichton and JJ Abrams. The sci-fi concept is filled with mystery and tons of twists. The series is also beautifully photographed on a cinematic level with some stunning compositions and compelling cinematography.

Stay tuned for more WESTWORLD NOIR coming soon.

Let’s dig in!

Got a film or show you’d like to see go NOIR?
Lemme know below.


WESTWORLD

noir-west35

noir-west6noir-west34noir-west3noir-west16noir-west27

noir-west47noir-west31noir-west29noir-west5noir-west7

noir-west20noir-west38noir-west18noir-west37noir-west1noir-west32


noir-west13

What do you think?

Any favourite images?

Check out some earlier NOIR.

noir-west19b

What film or show should go NOIR next?

8 thoughts on “NOIR 2.0 – WESTWORLD: Black & White

  1. I think I like the idea of this more than the result. Black and white films were designed with that in mind so that when they were filmed that way, they came out looking like a million bucks – usually. This show was meant to be big and bright for the most part and while some pictures look great, others are far too dark and look muddy. To me anyways. Great series Dan – keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for chiming in! I think old black and whites would have been in colour if they could have been (hehehe); however, there is a certain romance to the B&W aesthetic.

      I find that stuff shot on digital doesn’t have that same texture or depth, which you can definitely notice when you strip away the tricks of colour (check out Nolan’s Batman or V for Vendetta editions for more). I prefer the depths of blacks and shadows.

      Let’s face it, I’m a super nerdy cinephile. Aside from altering the lighting, this NOIR series also experiments with framing and compositions as a way to focus on the art that may get lost.

      Geeky justification aside 😉 I totally agree, some movies and shows are more appropriate for the NOIR treatment. I still have Bond on the list. Thanks for that earlier recommendation, buddy. I hope you like some of the other NOIR Volumes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Dan! I don’t know why I really don’t like to watch movies in black and white. I get tired and lose concentration 🙂 It takes me a very long time to identify the characters too (something must be wrong with me! 😀 )
    I love black and white pictures and I can look at them for hours, but I like my movies with a lot color (and only a few characters if possible!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for chiming in. That is interesting. I like the cinematography of old B&W. It’s like they have a different tool belt to help build the story 😉 I think it also creates a certain mood and atmosphere. That said, I think there are obviously some amazingly colourful films too.

      Liked by 1 person

So... What'd you think?

