SLIP/cuts: New THEATRICAL RELEASES – November

slipcuts

This series highlights the best movies debuting in theaters this month.

November sees the release of some Oscar buzz movies, big action franchises, holiday comedies, and family animation.

With a few options to filter through I’ve rated the anticipation for several releases. There are also on-the-fence inclusions, as well as big releases I’m going to go ahead and let slip/through the cracks.

Anticipatory films will be accompanied with a nerdy little blurb to justify their inclusion.

If you’re only watching one movie at the theater in November SPECTRE is probably the best choice, for something serious and something fun mixed into one. CREED should be another strong option. Depending on the movie goer, the best pick this month might be the conclusion to THE HUNGER GAMES.

For fans of award worthy cinema, SECRET IN THEIR EYES is probably the best option, with TRUMBO and SPOTLIGHT following close behind.


NOVEMBER 6

SPECTRE

Daniel Craig returns as his serious and tortured Bond. While I’m more a fan of the fun MISSION IMPOSSIBLE series, the movie going masses are near hysterics, salivating for another Craig 007 brooder. Some of the drama works, but I prefer the danger and wit of Connery’s Bond. That said, there are some impressive additions to the cast, with Christoph Waltz as the big bad baddie, Bautista as the henchman, and Lea Seydoux as the latest Bond Girl.

Anticipation: /////

NOVEMBER 13

BY THE SEA

Angelina Jolie directs this European Hitchock-ian thriller. The cinematography is beautiful, feeling like Terrence Mallick by way of Roman Polanski. The trailers don’t give away much. It looks like a fractured couple on vacation, with a lot of mysterious and suggestive camerawork. Brad Pitt stars alongside Jolie in this EYES WIDE SHUT vibing relationship suspenseful film.

* For more nerdy analysis check out That Sneak Peak Moment, I wrote with David from THAT MOMENT IN. *

Anticipation: /////

NOVEMBER 20

SECRET IN THEIR EYES

A remake of a stellar Spanish film, starring Julia Roberts. This dark and brooding tale will disturb and shock the audience. The trailer also highlights some amazing (and subtle) performances from the likes of Chiwetel Ejiofor and Nicole Kidman. There isn’t a lot of hype behind this one yet, but based on the story and the excellence shown in the sneak preview, this thriller is highly anticipated.

Anticipation: /////

THE NIGHT BEFORE

Seth Rogen does raunchy comedy again, this time focusing his train of dirty jokes on the Holidays. Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie are along for the ride. This looks like it could be a lot of fun. It feels like the good old NATIONAL LAMPOON VACATION films with Chevy Chase.

Anticipation: /////

NOVEMBER 25 / 27

CREED

The new chapter in the ROCKY story focuses on the son of Apollo Creed. Michael B Jordan plays the titular character, reuniting with his director from the phenomenal indie gem FRUITVALE STATION. Sylvester Stallone switches into the coach and mentor role in this one, training the young Creed to become a force to reckon with in the ring. The trailers set the stage beautifully. It looks like it could be the best ROCKY since the original.

Anticipation: /////

TRUMBO

Bryan Cranston tackles his first starring role since coming off of the triumphant BREAKING BAD. Here he plays a real life screenwriter during the Communist days of Hollywood, where sympathizers got Black Listed. Trumbo, although exiled, is recruited by Kirk Douglas to write SPARTACUS for Stanley Kubrick to direct. Hopefully, this element makes it on screen. The trailer tells us that part of the story will take place in the courtroom as Trumbo provides his infamous testimony against Hollywood. Despite how serious this sounds, expect a few dry laughs from some black comedy.

Anticipation: /////


ON THE FENCE SELECTIONS

NOVEMBER 13

NOVEMBER 20

NOVEMBER 25


NOT INTERESTED / THESE ARE SLIPPING THROUGH


What do you think? Leave a comment below.

Is this article missing some indie hidden gems that debut in November? Let me know.

tweet tweet @slipthroughnerd

theatre-nov

15 thoughts on “SLIP/cuts: New THEATRICAL RELEASES – November

  1. You can swap out Creed and put in Spotlight, and I like your top picks just fine. I’ve already seen Miss You Already. I’d probably see VF because I love me some McAvoy but haven’t heard much about it.
    And I suppose I should see the Pixar, but I’m suspicious about the lack of chatter. A Pixar miss?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. November has a few good options, eh. I liked your review on Spotlight from TIFF. I’m not completely sold yet, but it the cast is intriguing. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for it. And Creed? What can I say, I’m a sucker for that trailer. Love Jordan and Coogler too.

      Like

  2. I’d have to say I’m most interested in Secret in Their Eyes but I will probably wait until it is on video. If I see anything in theatres, it’s going to be Hunger Games, not because I think the movies (or the books for that matter) are all that great, but I have to follow through and finish the series. I also think The Good Dinosaur will be adorable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know eh. The last Hunger Games just set up everything, without delivering on anything. I need to see how it ends too. I just hope Katniss determines the outcome as an active choice, she’s been too passive for a hero, thus far. And I -want- this character to be sooo good.

      November has a few good releases. It’s hard to pick just 1. Personally, I’m looking forward to Creed the most.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t read Hunger Games. I actually needed help filling in the blanks for the 1st movie. It just didn’t make sense. Plus, Katniss never really fights, in an action movie. I think the themes are interesting though. I love how Battle Royale executed a similar premise… way better. Maybe readers enjoyed Mockingjay 1 cuz they know what it’s setting up. I wish I enjoyed these movies more. I feel like I’m missing something. I have the same experience with Transformers and Hobbit. I just don’t get it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Battle Royale is amazing! I read the book as well and it’s incredible. So much better than The Hunger Games. Quite honestly the third Hunger Games book – Mockingjay – is the worst. It’s like Suzanne Collins took the idea for the first book from Battle Royale and didn’t know where to go from there. But I’ll still watch the last movie. I felt the same way about Hobbit and Transformers too.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think part 2 came out a few years after the original hit. I know it’s on Netflix Canada now. So you’re in luck. It was hard to track down back in the day. Imagine describing this movie to the clerk behind the counter. They think Battle Royale is some wrestling video and you have to explain no no it’s about kids killing kids– umm. Hehhe. But I digress. Enjoy the sequel, I can’t wait to read your review!

        Liked by 1 person

So... What'd you think?

